Isn't it frustrating to see a player keep his first serve even if his service made was disallowed?.Often, one will hear the call "Let, First Serve" and wonder why a disallowed serve results in the player retaining his first serve.(I always assumed it was "let" instead of "net", because this would only occur if the ball hit the net during a serve).


When players make a "let" call, they are instructed to replay the point.During a rally, a let can be called, as well as during a serve (a service let).Players simply restart the point once called.Squash has a "let" call, meaning the players must replay a point if a ball striker blocks his opponent's path accidentally.

Tennis players call a "let" for a number of simple reasons.A “let” improves the game's fairness.In the case of a player being disadvantaged by circumstances not of his or her own doing, a let allows them to replay the point without that disadvantage.The principle leveled the playing field in competitive sports.


Who Can Call A Let?


For professional-level tennis matches, an umpire calls "let." In a casual match, the players can either designate a third party or agree that both players should call "let.".Assign a "no-let" rule in a casual match in order to prevent any lets from being called.A quicker match might result from this.


*





Rules On Calling A Let


The let call can happen during a service or rally in a tennis match.In professional soccer matches, you can generally extend these rules to casual games as well.Let's review tennis service and rally rules below.


The Service Let


The service let is the common call you'll find in professional tennis.Let in tennis occurs when a server hits the net with the ball on his/her serve, and the ball lands legally in the opponent's service box (i.e., in the service area).

An error differs from a fault in that it can either:

An opponent's net shot does not cross into the server's court, remaining in the server's court.- An opponent's net shot crosses into the server's court, but bounces outside of the serve box.

If you make a fault on the first serve, you lose the point or if you make a fault on the second serve, you lose the point.As opposed to a let, which simply results in a repeat of the first or second serve.In most tennis matches, the umpire will call "let, first" or "let, second" when a serve has been let.

Is there a limit to the number of serves one can return in tennis?.There is no limit to how many lets you can call for one point.